Flux – Path of Totality, Released Worldwide Today on Whirlwind Recordings!

Get it here

With thanks and gratitude to everyone involved on this journey-
The core musicians: David Binney, Matt Mitchell, Kenny Wollesen and Nate Wood
Guests: Orlando Hernández, Mark Duggan, Carl Maraghi, Dan Urness, Matt Holman, Ryan Keberle, Alan Ferber and Jason Barnsley

Artwork and Design: Kate Gentile
Liner Notes: Shaun Brady

Co-producer and Tonmeister: David Travers-Smith
Executive Producer: Michael Janisch

Professor Stephen Morris at the University of Toronto Department of Physics for collaborating

Recorded at:
National Music Centre (Calgary, Canada)
John Leimseider, Jason Valleau, Jason Tawkin and Adam Fox
Also to JazzYYC and Kodi Hutchinson

Systems Two Recording Studio (Brooklyn, NY)
Mike Marciano, Andrew Cavaciuti and Nancy Marciano

Figure 8 Recording (Brooklyn, NY)
Nate Mendelsohn and Michael Coleman

The six commissioned filmmakers, two who have been revealed: Lee Hutzulak (Bounce) and Anne Beal (Path of Totality)

Publicist: Ann Braithwaite

The Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity, Leighton Artist Studios
National Music Centre Artist-in-Residence
The Canada Council for the Arts for supporting these Residencies

‘Path of Totality’ Mini-Film Release – A film by Anne Beal

Six cutting-edge filmmakers create works for the Feb 8 worldwide release of ‘Path of Totality’ on Whirlwind Recordings.

The second film, ‘Path of Totality’, is by Brooklyn experimental animator Anne Beal! This piece, featuring two drummers, uses the Total Solar Eclipse of 2017 as its inspiration.

Always, huge thanks to the amazing musicians: David Binney, Matt Mitchell, Kenny Wollesen and Nate Wood!

Pre-orders here at Whirlwind Recordings

‘Like’ Quinsin Nachoff Artist Page to see the upcoming films as they are released!


‘Path of Totality’ JUNO Nomination

Honoured to be nominated for a JUNO Award for Jazz Album of the Year: Group for Flux – Path of Totality!

In excellent company – congratulations to my fellow nominees Andy Milne, Mike Murley and Allison Au. And to Andrew Rathbun whose Large Ensemble I had the pleasure of being a part of!

Always, thanks to the amazing musicians David Binney, Matt Mitchell (plus all the guests!) And to the others involved deeply with this project: David Travers-Smith, Kate Gentile, Ann Braithwaite & Vanessa Lee! Released on Whirlwind Recordings

New ‘Path of Totality’ Reviews

4.5 Stars. “An imaginative and ground breaking suite of compositions.” – Roger Farbey, AllAboutJazz
Full review here

“this sonic adventure is a form of alchemy, a magical science beyond explanation.” – Richard B. Kamins, Step Tempest
Full review here

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.