Forward Motion (2010)

David Binney – alto sax
Quinsin Nachoff – tenor sax, compositions
Matt Mitchell – piano, fender rhodes, organ, wurlitzer, moog synth
Kenny Wollesen – drums, percussion

Based around the rich, funky textures of Adrean Farrugia’s Fender Rhodes, Nachoff is joined on the frontline by Russ Johnson on trumpet, and Mark Kelso in the drummer’s chair, this bass-less quartet offers a lighthearted but utterly compelling reworking of modern jazz with rock and fusion influences. Original compositions range from the intimacy of a piano trio to the bombastic energy of the organ trio tradition.

"Funky, passionate and intellectually probing, Nachoff is the total package."

Glenn Hall


"splendid examples of imagination, wit and daring yet show keen understanding of jazz traditions."

Geoff Chapman

The Wholenote

"a highly developed composer"
"always intriguing and smartly executed"

Peter Hum

Ottawa Citizen

"...a world that spans jazz and pop inflection to create something at once familiar and 'wondrous strange'"

David Olds

The Wholenote

"Nachoff is one of an increasing number of jazzers playing with drastically different ensembles and using elements of various styles (in his case, from classical to funk to rock)."

Mike Doherty

National Post

"Tour de Force"

Culture Jazz (France)

"bursting at the seams with musical surprises throughout, constantly keeping you on the edge of your seat"

Purple Cabbage

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.